Vehicle Registration: General Information

Ordering a Personalized Licence Plate for your Vehicle

To order a personalized licence plate for your vehicle, do the following:
  1. Use the online service, Ordering a Personalized Licence Plate. Be sure to have your most recent registration certificate for the vehicle in question on hand (or your most recent driver’s licence if you are not yet the owner or lessee of the vehicle).
  2. Pay the applicable fees.
 
The Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec will then send you an email informing you as to whether or not your chosen character combination is accepted. If accepted, the combination will be automatically sent to the manufacturer, who will produce the plate and mail it to you directly.
 
Activating a Personalized Licence Plate
A personalized licence plate must be activated before it is placed on your vehicle. The procedure to follow for activation of your new plate will be indicated on the sticker attached to it by the manufacturer.
 
Driving a road vehicle or allowing a vehicle to be driven with a non-activated personalized licence plate is an offence and is subject to a fine

Survey:Your comments about this page...

To continue, correct the error(s) below.

1. You must at least answer one question or write a comment.

The content of the page:

  • has met my needs?
  • was easy to understand?

Immatriculation d'un véhicule : renseignements généraux | Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec

Commander une plaque d'immatriculation personnalisée pour son véhicule

Pour commander une plaque d'immatriculation personnalisée, la personne doit procéder de la façon suivante :

  1. utiliser le service en ligne Commander une plaque d'immatriculation personnalisée en ayant en main le dernier certificat d'immatriculation du véhicule pour lequel elle demande la plaque (ou son dernier permis de conduire, si elle n'est pas encore propriétaire ou locataire du véhicule);
  2. payer les frais applicables.

À la suite de cette démarche, la personne recevra de la Société de l'assurance automobile du Québec un courriel l'informant de l'admissibilité ou de la non-admissibilité de la combinaison choisie. Si cette dernière est acceptée, les renseignements seront transmis automatiquement au fabricant, qui produira la plaque et l'expédiera à la personne.

Activation de la plaque personnalisée
Une plaque d'immatriculation personnalisée doit être activée avant d'être fixée au véhicule auquel elle est destinée. La façon de procéder pour activer la plaque sera indiquée sur l'autocollant apposé à cette dernière par le fabricant.

Le propriétaire qui conduit ou laisse circuler son véhicule muni d'une plaque d'immatriculation personnalisée non activée commet une infraction et est passible d'amende.

Sondage :Vos commentaires sur cette page...

Vous devez corriger la ou les erreurs identifiées ci-dessous pour poursuivre.

1. Vous devez au moins répondre à une question ou remplir le champ commentaire.

Le contenu de cette page a-t-il :

  • répondu à vos besoins?
  • été facile à comprendre?