Becoming a parent.

International adoption with the assistance of a certified agency

Secrétariat à l'adoption internationale

Opening a File with the Secrétariat à l'adoption internationale

Selection of the country of adoption and the certified body
The adoptive parent must first ensure that he or she meets Québec’s adoption criteria and choose the country he or she wishes to adopt a child from, taking into consideration the country of origin’s requirements (e.g., minimum age, civil or marital status, family situation). It is also during this step that the adoptive parent chooses the certified body that will carry out the adoption procedures.

To obtain information on conditions in the countries of origin, adoptive parents are urged to consult the certified bodies on the list provided by the Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale or consult the Secrétariat international adoption advisor as they are in the best position to provide information on adoption conditions in the countries of origin.

The adoptive parents will receive information not only on conditions in the country of origin that the adoption project concerns but also on the current situation there, for example a restrictive moratorium on the number of international adoptions allowed or the suspension of international adoptions in a territory for a specified or unspecified period.

Signing of the contract with the certified body
The signing of the contract between the adoptive parent and the certified body is compulsory and must take place before the adoption procedure begins. The contract must describe, among other things, the services that the certified body offers the adoptive parent and the breakdown of the estimated cost of the adoption.

Opening a file to the Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale
The certified body has the adoptive parent fill out the Adoption file request form , which is subsequently sent to the Secrétariat, along with the requisite documents. The Secrétariat verifies compliance with Québec’s requirements, in particular with respect to the age and domicile of the adoptive parent. Once the verifications have been completed, the adoptive parent receives a letter indicating that the Secrétariat has opened the adoption file. This letter is required to pursue the adoption procedure.

  • traduction anglaise
  • ;#3;#Secrétariat à l'adoption internationale;#

Devenir parent

Adoption internationale avec l’aide d’un organisme agréé

Secrétariat à l'adoption internationale

Ouvrir un dossier au Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale

Sélection du pays d’adoption et de l’organisme agréé
Dans un premier temps, l'adoptant vérifie s'il répond aux critères du Québec en matière d'adoption. Ensuite, il choisit le pays où il souhaite adopter un enfant en prenant en considération les critères de sélection des pays d'origine (âge minimal requis, état civil ou matrimonial, situation familiale, etc.). C'est aussi à cette étape que l'adoptant choisit l'organisme agréé qui effectuera pour lui ses démarches d'adoption.

Pour obtenir des informations sur les conditions des pays d'origine, il est recommandé de consulter les organismes agréés à partir de la liste fournie par le Secrétariat à l'adoption internationale ou de consulter le conseiller en adoption internationale du Secrétariat, qui sont les mieux placés pour donner des renseignements sur les conditions d'adoption dans les pays d'origine au moment où la personne s'adresse à eux.

L’adoptant recevra ainsi des renseignements à jour et officiels non seulement sur les conditions du pays d'origine visé par le projet d'adoption, mais aussi sur la situation qui a cours actuellement (ex. : moratoire restrictif sur le nombre d'adoptions internationales consenties, suspension des adoptions internationales sur un territoire d'une durée déterminée ou indéterminée).

Signature du contrat avec l’organisme agréé
La signature du contrat entre l'adoptant et l'organisme agréé est obligatoire et doit avoir lieu avant le début des démarches d'adoption. Le contrat doit décrire, entre autres, les services offerts par l'organisme à l'adoptant ainsi que la ventilation des coûts estimés pour l'adoption.

Ouverture d’un dossier au Secrétariat à l’adoption internationale
L'organisme fait remplir à l'adoptant le formulaire Demande d’ouverture d'un dossier d'adoption , lequel est, par la suite, transmis au Secrétariat accompagné des documents requis. Le Secrétariat vérifie si les exigences du Québec sont respectées, en particulier en ce qui concerne l'âge et le domicile de l'adoptant. Une fois les vérifications faites, ce dernier reçoit une lettre confirmant l'ouverture de son dossier d'adoption au Secrétariat. Cette lettre est requise pour passer à l'étape suivante : l’évaluation psychosociale.

  • ;#3;#Secrétariat à l'adoption internationale;#